Gordian is now a Fortive Company. Learn More

Harry H. Mellon Awards in Job Order Contracting


Named for the inventor of Job Order Contracting, the Harry H. Mellon Award of Excellence in Job Order Contracting is the industry’s highest honor. This award recognizes outstanding principles and practices while identifying unique and innovative ways of using the Job Order Contracting (JOC) construction procurement method to complete facility and infrastructure projects. The award honors those involved in the process, including facility owners, managers, contractors and JOC consultants who achieved their project goals in an efficient and cost effective way, delivering exceptional results.

Harry Mellon Awards

Judging Criteria

  • Does the project reflect repair, renovation, alternation or minor new construction work based on pre-priced construction tasks and specs?
  • Does the project reflect a unique use of JOC?
  • Are there any project scope complexities or attributes that make it stand out from the rest of the submissions?
  • Did the project solve a unique problem?
  • Did utilizing JOC save the owner time and money when completing the project?



Nominations must meet the following criteria:

  • The project utilized JOC, including those procured via cooperative purchasing networks, and was completed in 2017
  • The project is an example of JOC Best Practices by delivering high value, time and cost efficiencies to the owner
  • Three photos of the project are included

Submissions now closed


Demonstrate to your constituents and management the importance and value of achieving your goals. This award honors those agencies and institutions that strive to improve their facilities and infrastructure through the use of JOC as an alternate construction procurement method.

Gain recognition. Honorees will be recognized in various communications, including press releases, newsletters and industry-related social media sites.

Submissions for the Harry H. Mellon Award of Excellence in Job Order Contracting will be accepted from February 1 through March 9, 2018.

Past Winners

View previous Award of Excellence and Award of Merit winners



Video: University of North Texas

eBook: 2017 Award Winning Project Case Studies


eBook: 2017 Award Winning Projects


Video: Arizona Dept. of Transportation

Have Questions?

Download the full terms and conditions of the 2017 Harry H. Mellon Award
or contact awards@gordian.com, 864.752.4542